Warrior Within

I lay on the ground hearing the sound

of struggled breathing

tears falling

lying at my teachers feet, admitting defeat.

“This is not who you are-you have come so far, too far

to lie here weak, it’s my guidance that you seek.”

I cried, “I’m still encompassed by darkness, captured by my mind-I fail everything, I cannot find

my strength, wisdom, open mind.”

“Listen to me, and you will see,” began my teacher

“I can show you what you truly seek and see I speak

only truth, so listen close:

you must remember who you are, look within, so you do not lose your happiness again.

Look around, there’s nothing left to fear, cry no more tears, hear

me.

You are loved, you are strong, every battle you’ve completed, undefeated.

There’s nothing you can’t accomplish, and this- this is my wish

for you.

That you realize all of this, rediscover your happiness.

Awaken! Awaken, my Warrior.

Look towards the sun. Grow, learn, there’s no reason to run.

Remember, I’m always here.”

And I, a warrior, stood firm on my feet, ready for any challenge I may meet, hearing my heart beat

with life, feeling the light 

within me-me, once a wounded warrior

now here to tell you: do not let darkness encompass you-you are too precious to let challenges beat you down.

You were born and built with armor, hold your head in honor, claim the hour-

claim it all: the dark, the light, yourself. Don’t lose you, your kindess, your valor.

You see, we all have goals, destinies, dreams-we cannot get there with negativity.

Do not lose sight of the path you seek, even when it seems bleak, darkness leaked.

The light shines bright

in you.

So now, my warriors, go forward with faith. 

Reclaim your crown and your strength.

Reclaim your throne.

👑

© Bobbi Méchelle Haskins

Leave a comment